How intuitive is teaching?

Things I’ve learned in Winter school thus far…

1. Be engaging, for the sake of yourself and the students

2. You’re going to stuff up. A lot. Forever.

3. It’s okay that you are going to stuff up. Keep going

4. Figure out what kind of teacher you want to be

5. Always learning. Never have a stagnant mind.

6. Build amazing connections in the work force and the wider web.

 

Now, I can talk about these points in ridiculous details but for the sake of my fingers, I wont.  Each speaker had something super important to tell us future educators. All the mini stories, analogies, warnings and advice seem so trivial yet monumental to the educator they are now. I’m honestly terrified. SO many things can and will happen. I’m on a roller coaster ride of professional change. How do you keep up?! I could barely keep up with writing notes during their lectures…

As much as I want to prepare myself for these eventual moments in my teaching career, I couldn’t help but think…

“The only way I will know what to do in these situations is to actually EXPERIENCE them. No amount of notes or readings will prepare me”

So for the current teachers out there, inexperience to the very experienced

Is teaching intuitive? Do you know what to do because your ‘gut’ says so?

It intrigues me how ‘easy’ teachers make it seem but behind it is a list of ‘what could go wrong’ based on their decisions and actions. I would like to think that everything teachers do is for the good of the student so with that in mind, are our innate thoughts the one we should go with?

 

 

Leave a Reply

